Ideas + Advice

Guides

5 Best Tempur-Pedic Mattresses + Reviews

Here are the year’s best Tempur-Pedic Mattresses.

Our Official List of Best Tempur-Pedic Mattresses is based on a variety of factors, including high ratings, number of reviews, sales performance, new and advanced Tempur technology and the personal opinions of our experienced sleep experts. All of these were weighed in narrowing down the top contenders.

Even a quick search for “Tempur-Pedic” brings up an overwhelming number of results. From hybrid to memory foam to the different collections  within the brand, choosing the best Tempur-Pedic mattress for you can feel downright stressful – until now. Here, we’ve narrowed down the five best Tempur-Pedic mattresses available today to make your buying process easier, faster and smarter. Below, you’ll find an in-depth analysis of why we chose each mattress, along with a selection of recent reviews from real customers who have tried and purchased the mattress for themselves. Use the Table of Contents above for quick navigation, or browse the full list to compare the benefits and differences of each mattress below. Finally, click on any product photo for more information and a complete list of the product’s customer reviews.

1. The Tempur-ProAdapt Firm

(Best Overall)

At the time this article was published, the Tempur-ProAdapt Firm ranked #4 on Living Spaces’ Top 15 Most Popular Mattresses list (for all brands); on the list of Tempur-Pedic mattresses, it's #1. In other words, it’s a hit. With the Tempur-ProAdapt’s three layers of cooling and support, it’s no wonder.

Best Features:

  • Advanced pressure relief: TEMPUR-APR®: 20% more TEMPUR® Material than Adapt™
  • Firmer feel for stomach and back sleepers
  • Cooling cover
The very top layer of the Tempur-ProAdapt Firm (the part you touch) is made with SmartClimate® Dual Cover System, which is a machine-washable, cool-to-the-touch cover that is also antimicrobial. Just underneath the SmartClimate® cover is TEMPUR-APR™, which is a fancy way of saying, simply, more material. (With TEMPUR-APR™, you get 20% more comfort material than the Tempur-Adapt, Tempur-Pedic’s original and simplest mattress in the line.) For stomach sleepers and back sleepers who prefer a firmer feel, this means more support, more pressure-relief – and more comfort.

Tempur-Pro Adapt Firm Featured Reviews

“I finally have the best sleep. I wake up every morning without feeling sore or tired or not wanting to start the day. This is probably the best purchase of my entire life." – Lynny, January 2021

“We are very happy with our Tempur-Pro Adapt Firm Eastern King Mattress. Very comfortable, excellent back support, excellent sleep.” – Nath, December 2020

“This is our second Tempur-Pedic and we're very happy. I have a bad back and found these beds to be the best for me.” – Chelsea, November 2020

It’s a Tempur-Pedic! No additional words needed. This has got to be the best mattress on the planet.” – Maryanne, October 2020

Tempur-Pro Adapt Firm: The Final Word

Tempur-Pedic’s firming technology doesn’t mess around. If most memory foam mattresses feel too soft or plush for your taste, try the Tempur-ProAdapt Firm; you just might fall in love.

2. The Tempur-ProAdapt Medium

(Best for Side Sleepers)


Tempur-Pedic’s Medium level mattress, specially designed for side sleepers with “Goldilocks” tendencies. (It’s not too firm, it’s not too soft – it’s just right!)

Best Features:

The Tempur-ProAdapt Medium may share a name with the Firm counterpart, but each offers a completely unique feel. While every mattress within the Tempur-ProAdapt collection is built with the same cooling cover and TEMPUR-APR® technology, the Medium is engineered with less firming tech and more contour. On a tangible level, this means that side sleepers’ necks, shoulders and hips (the three main pressure points for side sleepers) won’t dig into the mattress.

Tempur-Pro Adapt Medium Featured Reviews

“I love my bed. I'm getting the best sleep ever. Sorry it took so long to buy.” – Kathy, January 2021

“We just bought our new Tempur Pedic. We have had it for a month and are loving it. Very comfortable!!!” – Rileyru, December 2020

“We owned one for 13 years before getting a new one. It was a great mattress all those years and the new one is so comfortable, too. Love it!” – Valerie, October 2020

“This is the best investment I could have made. I’ve never felt a mattress this amazing. My body literally melts into my bed as soon as I lay down!” – Nikki, August 2020

Tempur-Pro Adapt Medium: The Final Word

Tempur-ProAdapt’s Medium comfort level doesn’t mean that the Tempur-Pedic engineers simply threw in equal parts Firm and Plush foam types. Rather, this is a mattress designed and tested to adapt to side sleepers’ unique pressure points.

3. The Tempur-Adapt Medium – Hybrid

(Best Value)


The Tempur-Adapt Medium combines coil tech with foam layers to deliver a hybrid of support and adaptable comfort.

Best Features:

  • More affordable
  • Original TEMPUR material
  • Premium Coils
  • Motion cancellation
The Tempur-Pedic name tends to be associated with cooling memory foam – not coils and springs. Don’t let that deter you from experiencing the Tempur-Adapt Medium – Hybrid, which involves a combination of coil technology and sheets of Tempur foam layers. In particular, it has 1000-plus springs, each designed meticulously in-house to work with the TEMPUR-APR® encasement and deliver smarter pressure relief.

Tempur-Adapt Medium – Hybrid Featured Reviews

“This is the best mattress I have purchased. I was able to get a full night’s sleep.” – Happy, December 2020

“We have found this mattress to be extremely comfortable and feel like we are getting a better night’s sleep.” – Berg, October 2020

“Super comfortable. Cool temperature. Restful sleep. What more could you ask for? We owned one Tempur-Pedic already, and this is for our guest room. Treat your guests to a restful sleep. Get this mattress! You won't regret the extra investment, and your guests will thank you.” – southcoastreviewer, August 2020

Tempur-Adapt Medium – Hybrid: The Final Word

It’s cooling. It’s soft. It’s contouring. At the same time, it’s somehow also firm and supportive. Like every other mattress on this list, it’s the product of a luxury line of mattresses, but unlike every other mattress on this list, it offers the most affordable price tag. If you want the feel of a cult classic for less money, go with the Tempur-Adapt Medium – Hybrid.

4. The Tempur-LUXEbreeze Firm

(Best Cooling)


Tempur-Pedic’s coolest mattress battles heat and humidity throughout the night.

Best Features:

  • TEMPUR-CM+ open cell breathability
  • PureCool+™ for longer cooling
  • Up To 8° cooler than Adapt Collection
     

If you live in a hot and humid climate and have struggled for good sleep because of it, this is the mattress for you. Eight here is the magic number; the Tempur-LUXEbreeze boasts a cooler feel over all other Tempur-Pedic mattresses listed here by up to a whopping eight degrees. It also contains a TEMPUR-APR® layer, which doesn’t sound so special in and of itself, until you realize that unlike the other mattresses’ TEMPUR-APR® layers, the Tempur-LUXEbreeze’s contain ventilated passageways. All around, you can’t get any cooler than this one.

Tempur-LUXEbreeze Firm Featured Reviews

“My husband and I love our new Tempurpedic LUXEBreeze. It is supportive and has reduced our joint pain.” – ErinR773, September 2020

“This was our first mattress purchase for desire over need, so we really got exactly what we wanted. We are definitely not disappointed, as this is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The cooling features of the bed make it that much more comfy. For hot sleepers who like a firm supporting mattress, this is truly the best choice. The only downside is that it’s very tall, about waist-high. If you’re on the fence, I say go for it.” – NAmador, September 2020

“I bought the firm mattress, and it has provided great lower back support.” – Arthur, September 2020

Tempur-LUXEbreeze Firm: The Final Word

For hot sleepers, the best investment money can buy.

5. The TempurPro-Adapt Medium – Hybrid

(Best Hybrid)


The TempurPro-Adapt Medium – Hybrid raises the bar with 20% more TEMPUR material than the Tempur-Adapt Medium – Hybrid.

Best Features:
  • Advanced pressure relief: TEMPUR-APR®:
    20% more TEMPUR® Material than Adapt™
  • Cooling cover
  • Medium feel for side sleepers
  • Spring and foam hybrid

Decade after decade, the TEMPUR foam material has proven that it’s nailed the science of pressure relief, adaptability and comfort. It’s great in theory, but unfortunately, there are just some things that an all-foam mattress can’t do that a hybrid can. Enter the TempurPro-Adapt Medium – Hybrid, which harnesses the moldable, memory power of foam with the bounce power of springs. The springs here naturally make the bed airier. (They also offer a bit more resistance than an all-foam mattress, meaning more support.) This Tempur-Pedic hybrid model is also found in the Tempur-Adapt Medium – Hybrid (#3 on this list). If you want a thicker mattress, we recommend the TempurPro-Adapt Medium – Hybrid, as it offers 20% more TEMPUR® material than the Tempur-Adapt Medium – Hybrid.

TempurPro-Adapt Medium – Hybrid Featured Reviews

“After checking on about 15 different types of mattresses at 8 or so different stores, we decided on this one. The salesperson was helpful and knew all about the different mattresses. The hybrid is absolutely perfect for us. It felt unusual for the first 2-3 nights, but that’s because we weren’t used to perfection . . . . We think this was a perfect purchase for us. It was expensive for sure, but Living Spaces beat everyone else’s price easily. And our health and COMFORT are worth it. We are sleeping in bliss now.” – LewMan, May 2020

“Both my husband and I have back problems, have been through a few mattresses from decent to somewhat expensive. This mattress beats anything we have ever owned or tried by far!! Everyone in the world should have one!!!” – Yani, April 2020

TempurPro-Adapt Medium – Hybrid: The Final Word

20% more material means higher weight-bearing efficiency and more targeted support. For couples who share a bed, the TempurPro-Adapt Medium can make all the difference.


Bonus Contender: The Tempur-Pedic Adjustable Base

It’s not exactly a mattress, so we’re not including it as part of the official list. It is, however, a game-changer in mattress comfort, so we’d be amiss if we didn’t mention it at least somewhere in an article devoted to Tempur-Pedic comfort.

Of course, we’re talking about the Tempur Ergo Extend Adjustable Base. As of 2021, it’s still relatively new to the market, but it’s here, with a bang. Designed to go with any of the mattresses above, it features all the classics, like stackable legs, height options and pillow tilt. But it’s also so much more.

Unlike the adjustable base you’ve slept on for decades, the Ergo Extend comes smarter. Features include USB ports, so that as you sleep, you can charge your phone and keep it close by. There’s also the four zone massage (quickly search "adjustable bases" and you'll find the average is two or three zones). And yet, these few details are just the tip of the iceberg. Discover more about the design (and more) here, and pair the Ergo Extend with any of the five mattresses above to take your sleep to the next level.

Shop Best of Tempur-Pedic

— More Great Articles —

Shop More Tempur-Pedic Customer Favorites

— Read the Latest —

Editorial Disclaimer: Articles featuring tips and advice are intended for educational purposes and only as general recommendations. Always practice personal discretion when using and caring for furniture, decor and related items.